It’s November and marigolds are still blooming on my front porch! This is unheard of in Ohio. While the weather has been unseasonably warm up to this point, the fall will soon be ending. Back to the marigolds though, here are the few straggling ones still standing at this point.

All the other foliage in the beds is toast. So as I’ve been thinking about how long these few marigolds have lasted, I can only attribute it to one thing: shelter. These marigolds didn’t receive any more water than others. They didn’t receive any more food than the others. They simply had one advantage; they are tucked just under the edge of the porch, still getting sunlight each morning, but receiving protection from the harsh frost that landed on the other flowers.

You have to love Psalm 61:2&3 “From the end of the earth will I cry unto thee, when my heart is overwhelmed: lead me to the rock that is higher than I.   For thou hast been a shelter for me,
and a strong tower from the enemy.”

No matter what we are facing we have the advantage! Our Shelter is the Lord and His protection will outlast more than just a few frosts. With the winter months ahead, in an overwhelmed state of heart, God offers security far beyond what this world can offer. “Thou O Lord” by Carol Cymbala is one of my favorite choir anthems. Take an extra minute to listen to the words; your heart will be blessed!

Just a Mom with a Heart for God

