Yesterday I was driving two of my children to the church for their kids’ choir event day. It was early morning and we were chatting about what to expect as the day unfolded. While nothing in writing had come to my attention, both my son and daughter seemed to be most excited about getting to eat at Chick Fil A at the mall for lunch. Since I didn’t have paper to back this up, I asked, “Well, how do you know that you are going to get to eat lunch at Chick Fil A?” I received an exuberant affirmation of “Our choir teachers told us so!” Then my daughter made another one of those “head” statements. (See the last blog entry.) She said, “We keep things in our head when we love them.” In other words, the detail about going to Chick Fil A was SO important that they couldn’t possibly forget about it!

So what are you keeping in your head lately? Our thought lives are so crucial to every day Christian living! When we memorize God’s Word and DWELL on it, then we are spiritual examples of my daughter’s statement above. Reminds me of David’s similar declaration in Psalm 119:11, “Thy Word have I hid in mine heart, that I might not sin against thee.” Oh, we say that we love God’s Word. But how much do we really love it? Are we spending time in it every day? Are we memorizing it?

I am so blessed to have been in environments over the years where Scripture memory was encouraged. When was the last time you memorized a verse and made it your own? Go ahead!

Keep it in your head because you love it.

