Over the last week, I’ve been thinking of my diet almost as much as most other Americans at this time of year. The emphasis of this thought train has been: What food can I eat that will boost my energy levels, especially first thing in the morning? Of course, eating patterns are extremely important; and drinking water is a given. But I really want breakfast to be something that I enjoy eating. I love food and it tastes good; so I refuse to waste this pleasure on things I don’t like. Never been a big protein shake kind of girl. Really love sugar. You can see the problem. So, here they are:

  1. Yogurt, add granola. Special K has a new granola that is awesome!
  2. Apples. Still true that an apple a day keeps the doctor away. Add peanut butter and you’ve got muscle-building material.
  3. Pumpkin- a slow burning starch. Try pumpkin bread full of raisins and nuts.
  4. Eggs- old-fashioned but true. Eggs and toast- instant energy.
  5. Bagels.

So I have the knowledge and desire for an improved diet. But do I have the character for a better breakfast habit? Because I can point the blame in all different directions, but making and taking the time to DO it- another story.

The same holds true with our spiritual diet. We feel lethargic and depressed, but haven’t spent any time reading the Word. We fail to start the day with a breakfast of Heavenly nature and wonder why we have no focus for life. Our spiritual energy level is depleted; yet we forget that Living Water Source within. I love what Jesus told the woman at the well. “Whoever drinks the water I give him will never thirst. Indeed, the water I give him will become in him a spring of water welling up to eternal life.” John 4: 14 

And THERE is your power food for thought.

