I admit it. Recently I had been worrying about some issues. Oh, yes. I know. Worry is a sin. But that downward spiral of anxious thoughts left me fretful and even fearful. Instead of choosing to give these burdens to the Lord and leave them there, I kept picking them back up. Finally, enough was enough and as I fell asleep, I asked the Lord to give me replacement thoughts in the morning. I had peace after spending time with Him that night, but wondered how I would hold up when I awoke.

I know you’ve been there. Or maybe you are experiencing some situation right now. It is bigger than you and larger than life, and you just don’t know how to handle it. No one else may even know what “it” is.

Often I wake up with songs playing over in my head; many times the ones I’ve heard most recently. This particular time, it was clear to me that this song was from the Lord because I hadn’t heard it in a few days. I wasn’t even sure of the words of the song at first… “Is it ‘see’ or ‘seek’?” The words that were playing over and over in my mind: “Cause when we see You, we find strength to face the day/ In Your Presence all our fears are washed away…”

After my self-created “flight of fear”, God not only washed away the fears, but He put a song in my mouth! Whether we “see” or “seek” Him, His strength is what carries us through each day. His strength is perfect; why do we try to rely on our own? When we spend time with Him, our fears are completely dispelled! There are so many verses I could list right here!!

My favorite:

Psalm 34:4 I sought the LORD, and he heard me, and delivered me from all my fears.

