Ever read that book? Trust me, we are asking that question all the time at our house. Over the weekend, I quickly threw the diaper bag over my shoulder and caught the scent of sunscreen. Immediately a smile came across my face. Read on and you’ll understand:

Last summer I took my three youngest kiddos and the baby to the free Tuesday morning movies at the cinema. It’s no small task to take three kids, ages 7, 5, and 3, and a baby ANYWHERE, much less a place where they have to listen. There has to be a strategy. I would challenge any CEO of a major corporation to do it without an issue of some sort. Regardless, as we settled in our seats one fine day, I heard a noise, like an aerosol can spraying. Because it WAS an aerosol can spraying! Only I didn’t realize was what fully happening until I saw the cloud forming above our heads like the pillar of cloud by day in Exodus and the vapor was so strong we had to move seats. No lie! Since then the diaper bag has had quite the tropical scent. A reminder that caused me to smile six months later.

As humans, our sense of smell is our strongest sense of recollection. God uses this human element to help us understand how precious our prayers are to Him! Rev. 5:8 says, “the four beasts and four and twenty elders fell down before the Lamb, having every one of them harps, and golden vials full of odours, which are the prayers of saints.” Our prayers are kept as sweet incense to the Father; He treasures our prayers and loves to have them surrounding Him.

Psalm 141:2 “Let my prayer be set forth before thee as incense; and the lifting up of my hands as the evening sacrifice.”

Wouldn’t it be awesome to have God asking, “Who’s making that smell?”

Just a little finite attempt of explaining our infinite God.

