I remember one time someone asked me what I wanted to be when I grew up and I said, “A truck driver.” At five years old, it seemed like a fun job to me. The truck was big and gave you a feeling of power when sitting behind the wheel. Believe me when I tell you that I’m definitely not qualified to drive a truck.

This picture is of me and two of my younger siblings. One of my older sisters (there are nine of us) posted this picture on her facebook and immediately my thought was “Should have known back then that I would have a house full of children some day.” That poor doll in the photo succumbed to my five year old idea of motherhood for a long time…

The key thought I’ve been contemplating is that we ask “What would you like to BE when you grow up?” Not “What would you like to do for a living?” Not “How much money would you like to make or what kind of car would you like to drive?” Not “What kind of front would you like to portray?” What would you like to BE.

Grown up or not, what would you like to BE? The word “Be” occurs 7012 times in the Bible. Out of that number, only a few are actual commands for Christians to “be.” Be fruitful. (Gen. 1:22) Be strong. (Joshua 1:9) Be filled with the Spirit. (Eph. 5:18) Be transformed by the renewing of your mind. (Romans 12:2)   Be instant in season, out of season. ( II Tim. 4:2) All of those commands to “be” are reflections of our character as Christians. In order for our actions to accurately reflect who we are, we must truly BE who we should BE. Think about your existence. We were created to worship the God of the universe. This is who we are to be.

What would you like to be when you grow up?

