On Monday, my Tristina and I headed off to her afternoon kindergarten class. It’s a five minute drive, but she loves the attention of that little drive. The two of us have girl chat and it is usually about whatever topic she desires.

This week she chose a whopper of a topic. “So why was Daddy crying when we were watching the video on Saturday?” Now you have to understand that her grandparents celebrated their fiftieth wedding anniversary and the whole family was in Cleveland to celebrate. Her dear aunt and cousin spent hours upon hours scanning pictures and putting together a wonderful video of memories. When the picture of Taylor, our daughter with MPS, came up with Daddy, then both Matt and I felt the flood gates open. Back to Tristina’s question: My reply was that Daddy was crying because it is hard to look back at pictures of Taylor when she was able to talk and sing and was so happy. Now she has a boo-boo in her brain and can’t do those things anymore. We miss that.

Tristina: “How did she get the boo-boo in her brain?” 
Me: “God made her that way.” (Boy did I set myself up.)

Tristina: “Why did God make her that way?”

Me: “That was the way He could get the most glory out of her life.”

And we were at school, arriving just in time for hug, kiss, out the door.

I opened the topic at our dinner conversation, repeating to Daddy what Tristina and I had discussed. Daddy added that we don’t always understand God’s ways and we can talk to God about it when we get to Heaven.

Hard questions. I’m guessing you’ve got some of your own. The Whys. The If Onlys. The What Ifs.

Yes, we” will understand it better by and by;” but in the mean time, what kind of glory is He getting out of our lives? Are we so busy demanding the answers that we fail to grasp Who we are questioning?

Isaiah 55: 8&9 “For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways, saith the LORD.
For as the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways, and my thoughts than your thoughts.”


Can’t add anything to that.

