One of the most common interview questions today is “What are your strengths and weaknesses?” My husband and I laugh over this question, as if someone is going to boldly outline: 1. Laziness 2. Procrastinating 3.Spitefulness…. “Well, I have a hard time getting out of bed in the morning, so I’m going to be prone to be late….” “I have a tendency to forget everything so I have to write it all down.” Most of us know our strengths and can easily rattle them off. We pride ourselves on our abilities and talents as if we generate them by sheer force.

But God doesn’t ask about our strengths. He just wants our weaknesses.

Weakness is how He works in our lives.

When we come to the place we realize how much we need Him, and how little strength we truly have on our own, then we have arrived at the place where He can use us. I love what Paul said about this in I Corinthians 1:27:

“…God hath chosen the weak things of the world to confound the things which are mighty.”

Like David the shepherd vs. Goliath the giant.

Like Moses the stutterer vs. Pharaoh.

Like Gideon the ghetto boy vs. the Midianites.

Like Sarah the senior citizen vs. pregnancy.

Like Noah the loner vs. the world.

The Lord gave Paul an ultimatum about his weakness:

“My grace is sufficient for thee: for my strength is made perfect in weakness.” II Corinthians 12:10

Human weaknesses, whether physical, mental, emotional or spiritual, are perfected when surrendered to His grace. Through His amazing design, the plan of our lives begins to unfold and our feeble weaknesses become perfect, yes, perfect, through His strength.

If I could speak on any topic at a Women of Faith conference, I would speak about how weak I am. How I have begged God, like Paul, to take away my flaws, my problems, my issues. But His grace is sufficient for me. And that same grace is sufficient for them too.

