I will never forget the first animal I hit while driving. I heard the “thunk.”   Then I looked in my rearview mirror and saw this squirrel, spinning in circles, with its glorious tail spinning along with it. At that point I thought, “Why did I hit that thing? Didn’t I see it?”

Our vision as we view history is often 20/20; but then again, what good would it be if experience taught us nothing. So for Women of Faith Wednesday, here are my (drum roll, please) top 10 things I wish I knew BEFORE I became a mother:
1. Children really do puke if they eat too much candy.
2. Diapers can explode.
3. Baby food does NOT taste good.
4. Extra Binkis, pacis, whatever you name it, should be kept for emergencies, especially for 3 am emergencies.
5. Benadryl works.
6. Sippy cups do not hold Sprite.
7. Treasured blankies go to college.
8. What goes in must come out.
9. Laughter truly is the best medicine.

And number 10, on a more serious note:
Your role as a mother may be completely different than you ever dreamed it. I received a very thoughtful message from a fellow mom this week with a quote from the new movie, Letters to God.

God picked you.
  He picked you to be my mother.”

He makes no mistakes. Every child and every mother are specifically paired together.

I love Psalm 139:13:
“I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; your works are wonderful, I know that full well.
My frame was not hidden from you when I was made in the secret place. When I was woven together in the depths of the earth,
your eyes saw my unformed body. All the days ordained for me were written in your book before one of them came to be.”

I could talk to you for hours about all my expectations for motherhood… and all the failures, but neither matter.  Whether a hard-earned “B” on the report card, a wonderful change in your child’s behavior, or the ability to chew food and swallow it, rely on Him to provide the victory. 

What matters is this:

Taking each day, yielding it to Him and anticipating the outcome.

