Tags



Ironically enough, I had a total different idea for the blog today. Didn’t work out. Funny huh?

A few weeks ago, I was blessed enough to snag a copy of “Plan B” from Booksneeze at Thomas Nelson Publishers. Only 500 copies were made available to the 10,000 bloggers participating in the program; God knew that book was for me!

The cover question above the title reads:

“What do you do when God doesn’t show up the way you thought He would?”

We all have our dreams of perfection. The brick house with the picket fence. 2.3 children. Fulfilled career goals. Whatever it is, we have a point and a plan. Then, suddenly or perhaps gradually, we begin to experience a change in our plans. Circumstances present themselves that were not expected. Things don’t happen the way we thought they would. Crazy things happen, you know: divorce, disease, death. Suffering.

I’ve experienced a few plan B’s of my own. Oh, I grew up in a Christian home, graduated from Christian school and college, and completed the circle by teaching in a Christian school. But after a few years of marriage to a Bible College graduate, I found myself divorced and single parent to a precious girl, Taylor. God graciously gave me a second chance and I remarried. Shortly after marrying my Matthew, my mother, who was also my best friend, was taken to Heaven via leukemia. Within a year, a diagnosis for my sweet daughter was issued as MPSIIIB, a neurologically degenerative lysosomal storage disease that has a typical lifespan of 10-15 years. Yep, I’ve definitely been on Plan B.

This book is a must read for anyone. Those who are on Plan B and those who think Plan B will never happen to them.

Some of my favorite quotes:

“The knowledge of God’s love is not going to make the pain of Plan B go away. But we can allow his love to become the fuel that sustains us through the long, difficult days ahead.”

“We must be willing, if necessary, to abandon the life we’ve planned and dreamed of in order to receive the life that our God has authored for us.”

“…God will absolutely allow suffering, pain, and crisis in order to detach hope from other things and attach it to himself. He will use the suffering of Plan B to strengthen our faith.”

“Faith is saying that I choose to believe in you, God, more than this or that tragedy.”


When I think of the word trust, I think of complete and total reliance. Taylor’s disease has driven our family to rely on God each and every day. I am asked quite frequently how we cope with the reality of her path of life. My response is that we daily request grace and mercy and it is daily afforded to us anew. God is good.

I wrote the above words just a few months ago.

Plan B affirmed them.



Disclosure of Material Connection: Thomas Nelson Publishers sent me a free copy of this book as part of their bloggers book review program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

