Tags

Ever get a book that you just know you were supposed to read?  I love it when God gives me affirmation of following His will.

I’ve been teaching and writing a Bible study entitled “Outside the Zone.”  The study is all about people in the Bible who took a leap of faith and stepped outside their comfort zone.  Last week and this week, we are studying Moses. And guess who just happened to be a part of Max Lucado’s book? Yep, Moses. I blogged a bit about that here, but here’s the book review:

This book is further defined by the subtitle, “Common People in the Hands of An Uncommon God.”  The author takes a few well-known and some not-so-well-known Bible characters and presents them in a modern day light.  Mephibosheth, Abigail, Moses, Job, and Esther…these were a few of my favorites.  God used all of them. Flaws and faults. Hang-ups and issues. Yep, they were normally abnormal. Just like us today.

I enjoyed this book tremendously; it was an easy read and held my attention.  I personally enjoyed the story of Jairus so much; perhaps because of my own sweet sick daughter, Taylor. There was no plowing or driving; I eagerly wanted to read about the next character.  More than that, this book made me want to share what I was reading.  My personal experience was that the timing of receiving this book gave me the opportunity to read a portion of Moses’ story to the ladies in my Bible study.  (Not to mention I kept reading excerpts to my husband…)

It seemed that God just dropped the book into my lap at just the right time. Love it when He does that!

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com <http://BookSneeze.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

