Tags

,

Outside the Zone of Ability: Moses

Exodus 4:10-31; Hebrews 11:23-29

As Christians, God gives us spiritual gifts and uses them uniquely.  He equips each of us individually; but what do we do when the task He is calling us to do is not a part of our comfort zone?  What if it seems to be completely outside our abilities or skill set?   When this happens, we must have the FAITH to step out and follow His command.

In continuing to view Moses and his long list of excuses as to why he could not possibly lead the children of Israel, upon reaching chapter 4 of Exodus, we read a new list of excuses that Moses uses to decline God’s assignment.

And Moses said unto the LORD, O my Lord, I [am] not eloquent, neither heretofore, nor since thou hast spoken unto thy servant: but I [am] slow of speech, and of a slow tongue.

Look, God:

  1. “I am not eloquent.  Hasn’t changed since You started talking to me either.  I just can’t think of what I’m going to say before it starts to tumble out and run together.”
  2. “I am slow of speech.”  The Hebrew word for slow is “kabed.” It means “heavy.” The Hebrew word for speech is “peh” meaning mouth.  Most scholars believe Moses was trying to describe an actual physical deformity here.  A “heavy mouth.”  Most likely a palate issue.
  3. “I have a slow tongue.” Same Hebrew word for slow: heavy.  The medical condition is ankyloglossia or “tongue-tied.”

Moses is trying to identify three DIFFERENT disabilities he possessed in relation to what God wanted to do in His life.  These hang-ups were real and literal.  Moses isn’t telling God something He doesn’t already know!

“Who created you, Moses?  Who creates every person with physical, mental, or emotional deformities?  I did.  I love you and created you specifically this way.  It is part of your purpose in life.  I’m trying to give you the opportunity to reveal my utmost glory! But you have to agree.  You have to choose to allow My will in your life.”

At this point, God is angry with Moses, yet He provides again, by giving Aaron to be his spokesperson.

I love what happens between verse 1 of chapter 4 and verse 31 of chapter 4.  Looking back at verse 1 of the chapter, Moses has all the reasons why he shouldn’t be the leader.  The first thing he says is “they won’t believe me.”

How many times do we use that excuse when God gives us a task? Whether speaking to a family member about forgiveness or being kind to a stranger, our minds doubt the power of the Holy Spirit and we think, “Oh, they won’t believe me.”

But just look at verse 31! The first four words:

And the people believed.

Once Moses started the journey to meet Aaron, once the sin was removed from his life, once he gave God the control, then

the people believed.

Just what God wants to do in your life: show others the way to believe.

Can’t wait to outline the practical steps of taking the leap of faith, patterned after Moses!

