“The Edge of the Divine” by Sandi Patty is the story of her life  essentially beginning at the urgency of her need to lose weight.   The affluent soprano honestly shares her struggles and fears centered around the theme of how to proceed with life when you have arrived at an edge.   The principle of dealing with the “edges” of your life is strong and true, as Sandi shares examples of how others describe their edges and the decisions they made to conquer those edges.

This book was attractive to me, due to my own experience of gaining 48 pounds with my first child.  It took three years for me to lose all that weight and it is personally interesting to me to know others’ stories regarding the battle of weight loss and staying healthy.  However, it was a challenge to follow the theme of the book.  The chapters seemed at times chronologically based and at other times,  principle based.  In my humble opinion, while I enjoyed the book, there were a few chapters I had to force myself to plow through.

In light of the above, I still highly recommend this book for anyone with the desire to lose weight and be not just physically active and fit, but also spiritually healthy.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com <http://BookSneeze.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

