Quite the difference in being alone versus being lonely, isn’t there?   With a family of six children and one on the way, I can honestly say I’m rarely lonely and rarely alone. 🙂  When I make a mistake or forget something, my husband often jokes and says I’m in timeout.  My response: Please? Can I please be in time out?  Go to my room with no interruptions?

I love what Luci Swindoll explains in her Women of Faith devotional this week.  Essentially:

“When I’m alone, I process life’s experiences, think through choices, replenish my energy, and face myself without other distractions. Sometimes that’s pleasant; sometimes it’s not. But it’s never without value.”

Women of Faith asks if we dread solitude or revel in it.  I would have to say that I’m one that revels in it, but only to be recharged and renewed in order to begin serving again.  If I had more alone time, I wonder if the grateful attitude would be present in the same respect?

So if you’re crazy busy like our household, just a couple quick suggestions to make the most of your alone moments:

1. Just breathe.  This is  NOT easy for me.  But two or three minutes and my thought processes are much improved! (Or I’m asleep… 🙂 )

2. Read a minute devotional!  Two books I recommend for this: Minute Meditations for Busy Moms or Jesus Calling.  Both are so direct and challenging; I keep them on my nightstand.

3. Recite your favorite verses.  God’s word does not return void!  Isaiah 55:11 “…so is my word that goes out from my mouth: It will not return to me empty, but will accomplish what I desire and achieve the purpose for which I sent it.”

4. Be specific in a prayer of thankfulness. Give details! In everything give thanks.

Nothing scientific here, folks.

But just a reminder to myself, if no one else, that a few moments of being alone can reap great dividends when the time is dedicated to Him.

Click here to view other Women of Faith Talk Back entries.

