From the best-selling author of “Then Sings My Soul,” “On This Day in Christian History” is an inspiring devotional with 365 stories of saints, martyrs, and heroes. In America today, we often fail to think about what some Christians endured because of their love for God and His Word.   Some of the stories are of trials through persecution, but many are stories of heartache and loss.

This book is one that will inspire you and it encouraged me so much that I didn’t take it one day at a time, but digested a few stories here and there…in waiting rooms, service lines, and spare lunch minutes.   The Scripture verses at the end of each story further impressed the story into my mind as I thought about how powerful God’s Word is through adversity.  I am not a huge history buff as is my husband, but this book will boost your knowledge of Christian history and challenge your spirit of devotion to God.

One of my favorite features of this book is the selected topical index in the very back.  Subjects can be chosen, such as: faith, fatigue, mentors, baptism, prayer, suffering; then the stories listed under those topics are indexed.   This feature makes the book fantastic for speaking and writing illustrations, as well as personal inspiration.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

