When I was a little girl, one of my favorite Sunday School songs was “Jesus Loves the Little Children.”  But I can tell you flat out that when it came to the part: red and yellow, black and white, they are precious in His sight. Jesus loves the little children of the world…I had to have this explained to me the first time.  Simply because in my rural neck of the woods, there were no children of any other color.  Just white.

A few months ago, I was afforded the opportunity to review the book, “Church Diversity: Sunday, The Most Segregated Day of the Week by Scott Williams.  I had caught wind of the book through my Twitter feed and couldn’t wait to see exactly what it was all about.

Until I started reading it.  And the Holy Spirit began to talk to me through the words and examples.

I know: this isn’t your normal book review.  Heck, (It’s my blog so I guess I can say that) it isn’t even MY normal book review.  But this book has stirred my heart in a direction that God was already leading me. Hear me out. (Boy, I’m throwing all the hillbillyism I can get out there today.)

The book launches with this statement from Martin Luther King Jr.:

We must face the sad fact that at the eleven o’clock hour on Sunday morning when we stand to sing, we stand in the most segregated hour in America.

Church Diversity by Scott Williams is informative, instructional, and intimate. Informative through explanations of church statistics on ethnicity, instructional through examples of purposeful, deliberate leadership moves, and intimate through Christ’s love for all cultures and how He pours His Spirit out on those who exhibit this love.  This book is a resource on having cultural conversations and encouraging the deliberate process to change the face and heart of God’s Church.  Essentially allowing church to appear more like Heaven.

Perhaps some would say that a country girl like me has no business reading a book of such caliber.  After all, I’m in no position to do anything about it. I’m just a church member, trying to do what God wants me to do.  I am not a leadership team member. Don’t have a lead role in anything except washing dishes and doing laundry at the Woj house, along with the primary honor of guiding the lives of seven children. But, the impression of this book on my heart:

American churches are not equally reaching the melting pot of their communities and I need to be the one to make a difference where I live.

Exactly how that will shake out, I can’t be too sure of at this point.  I only know that if you read this book, your heart will be stirred.

And the typical cultural barriers will be viewed as

hurdles to jump.

Not ignore

or avoid.

Why?

Because Jesus DOES love all the little children of the world.

