Tags

, ,

Over the weekend, I was asked a question. Bold and blunt.

(You know, some people the Lord gently reminds to keep their opinions to themselves and then there are those I believe He has to scream in their ear :

Keep your trap shut!

 I verge on that sort of person occasionally….)

Regardless, the question was:

Did you WANT 7 kids?!?!?!

I can honestly say that I did not start my parenthood journey thinking:

Oh, no sweat.  I think 7 would be easy. Yep, step-relationships are such a piece of cake. Oh, and special needs? Simple. I’ll take it. Rare, complicated disease for one child? Sure. Allergies? Bring. it. on. The more the merrier. And throw a huge age span in there too, just for good measure.  Nothing like having one daughter attending her senior awards ceremony on the day after the birth of another.

However, I can tell you that from the time I was little, I used to drag my little dolls around like crazy. And line them up to feed them and teach them. 

I even took them to church whenever I could get by with it.

I had various dreams of becoming a doctor, attorney, and writer. But I do have to say that in my heart of hearts, dream of dreams, more than anything, I really did want to be a wife.

and a mother.

So I have my dream.

However, the vision I had looked a little more like the Brady Bunch.

Housekeeper. Cook. Trips to Hawaii.

And so far…

I’m the Housekeeper.

And the Cook…

And a trip to Heaven is probably in the closer future than one to Hawaii.

The point is: Often God gives us our dreams. 

We just view them from a different perspective than His.

Maybe your dream has been given to you, but like me, you are missing the housekeeper and cook.  Those embellishing details that make you look good; where are those?

And work for that dream? What?

Praying: God, are you really saying I have responsibility with the privilege?

Perhaps your dream doesn’t need to change.

Just your perspective.

I Corinthians 13:12 Now we see things imperfectly, like puzzling reflections in a mirror, but then we will see everything with perfect clarity.   All that I know now is partial and incomplete, but then I will know everything completely, just as God now knows me completely.

So to answer that question: Did you WANT 7 kids?!

Yep.

Every. single. one.

